OLA YOUNG BRAINS QUIZ COMPETITION: COUN. HAMMED IDRIS STAGES 3RD EDITION • Rewards Talents With Juicy Prizes As Immediate Past Winner Receives Education Support Award

Share this:

OLA YOUNG BRAINS QUIZ COMPETITION: COUN. HAMMED IDRIS STAGES 3RD EDITION • Rewards Talents With Juicy Prizes As Immediate Past Winner Receives Education Support Award

By Trek Africa Newspaper


• Convener Of The Laudable Programme Assures Continuity of the Annual Event


Parents, Teachers and pupils of Aguntasolo Nursery & Primary School along with their counterparts in Duro Oyedoyin Nursery & Primary School, both of Airways Ward, Itire-Ikate LCDA experienced an educationally enriching day on Tuesday, 28th November, 2023 as five(5) representatives each from the two schools locked horns in a fiercely contested Third edition of the annual OLA YOUNG BRAINS QUIZ Competition convened and sponsored by the councillor representing Airways Ward and Leader of the 5th Legislative Assembly, Itire-Ikate LCDA, Coun. Hammed Oladipo IDRIS.

The competition, which ran through three(3) stages with 10 young talents from the two schools (5 apiece) namely Ani Miracle,
Olajire Tobiloba, Onyeaganam Favour, Fatokun Amidat and Njoku Chinaza for AGUNTASHOLO PRIMARY SCHOOL and Okon Promise,
Okafor Chidinma, Uwebedu Precious, Jonas Chinecherem and
Obisesan Samuel for DURO-OYEDOYIN PRIMARY SCHOOL ultimately produced the winner of the 3rd Edition in person of ANI, Miracle from AGUNTASHOLO NURSERY & PRIMARY SCHOOL, whose birthday incidentally fell on the appointed date for the competition with Okon Promise of Duro-Oyedoyin primary school coming second and Obisesan Samuel, also of Duro-Oyedoyin primary school occupying the third position.

L-R: Councillor representing Airways Ward/Leader, 5th Legislative Assembly, Itire-Ikate LCDA, Coun. Hammed Oladipo IDRIS with the CEO/Executive Secretary, Lagos State Security Trust Fund, LSSTF, Dr Abdurrazaq Balogun


In his address, Coun. Idris opined that the annual event, which has now ran its course for third consecutive years and still counting has been impactful in building capacity, confidence and educational excellence in our pupils and raising the bar in their competitive spirit.

IDRIS, therefore renewed his pledge of continuity of the annual quiz event for many decades to come.


While delivering his goodwill message, Dr. Razak Balogun who was the special guest commended the amiable legislative skills and proactiveness of the quiz convener, Coun. Idris for his laudable contributions to the educational development of the pupils that has now become an annual ritual, praised the sacrifices of the teacher in building the children for a greater tomorrow, while also encouraging the pupils to keep excelling in their educational pursuits to become future greats of Nigeria.

Moreover, It was double luck for Duro-Oyedoyin Nursery & Primary School, been the host schoool of the competion as Dr. Balogun also extended gesture of kindness to the school as he made a personal donation of N200,000.00 to the school for construction of a well for water supply due to incessant power outage which hinders efficient functioning of the school borehole; a need that had existed for some time until their request was communicated to Airways Ward councillor, Hammed Oladipupo IDRIS who escalated their request for support from the Lagos State Security Trust Fund Chief.


A remarkable highlight of the day was the award of an Educational Support sum of N25,000.00 to the last year winner of the competition, Miss Awwal Adebayo in fulfillment of the pledge by the donor and convener, Coun. Hammed Oladipupo IDRIS to support each winner with that sum annually as encouragement for them to keep excelling and stay focused during the course of their higher education

All participants went home with varying prizes with the star prize going to the winner, Ani, Miracle while the audience also got consolation gifts for their presence and support.


Other dignitaries that graced the occasion included Supervisor For Education, Itire-Ikate LCDA, Hon. (Prince) Yomi Lawrence, Majority Leader of Itire-Ikate Legislative House, Hon. Isiaka Kazeem-Alalukimba, his Deputy, Hon. Olaoluwa Agbeyangi, Baruwa Ward Councilor, Hon. Adebisi Adetayo, Chief Whip, Itire-Ikate 5th Legislative Assembly, Hon. Tunde Fancy, Former Chief Whip of Coker-Aguda LCDA, Hon. Onikeku Quadri Adetola, Former Supervisor For Environment, Coker-Aguda LCDA, Hon. Adeleke Ogunsanya. coordinator of the event, Alhaji Fola Raheem, Deputy Chairman, Itire-Ikate IGR Committee, Mr. Dare Oyenekan, Mrs. Thelma Mosaku who moderated the quiz sessions, other party faithfuls and the active audience from both schools.

Media Unit
Office Of The Leader
Itire-Ikate Legislative Assembly

Share this:

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *